In this article, the authors share how a class of fifth-grade students from an urban elementary school channeled their creativity and critical thinking in an engaging STEAM investigation. Contributors to the iSTEM (Integrating Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) department share ideas and activities that stimulate student interest in the integrated fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) in K–grade 6 classrooms.

Contributor Notes

Colleagues at Bowen Elementary School in Louisville, Kentucky, Karen D. Owen, karen.owen@jefferson.kyschools.us, and Lynn J. Kaiser, lynn.kaiser@jefferson.kyschools.us, are interested in integrating mathematics instruction within a STEAM lab.

Sarah B. Bush, Sarah.Bush@ucf.edu, is an associate professor of K–12 STEM education at the University of Central Florida. She is interested in the learning of mathematics through transdisciplinary STEAM.

Kristin L. Cook, kcook@bellarmine.edu, an associate professor of science education and Associate Dean at Bellarmine University in Louisville, Kentucky, is interested in deepening student and teacher understanding and engagement with STEAM through problem-based inquiry.

Edited by Melissa M. Soto, melissa.soto@mail.sdsu.edu, an assistant professor of mathematics education in the School of Teacher Education at San Diego State University in California

Mollie H. Appelgate, mollie@iastate.edu, a mathematics teacher educator at Iowa State University in Ames. Contributors to the iSTEM department share ideas and activities that stimulate student interest in the integrated fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) in K–grade 5 classrooms.

(Corresponding author is Owen karen.owen@jefferson.kyschools.us)(Corresponding author is Kaiser lynn.kaiser@jefferson.kyschools.us)(Corresponding author is Bush Sarah.Bush@ucf.edu)(Corresponding author is Cook kcook@bellarmine.edu)(Corresponding author is Soto melissa.soto@mail.sdsu.edu)(Corresponding author is Appelgate mollie@iastate.edu)
Teaching Children Mathematics

Metrics

All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 13 13 2
Full Text Views 7 7 3
PDF Downloads 7 7 4
EPUB Downloads 0 0 0