Supporting Sense Making with Mathematical Bet Lines

This discourse strategy helps students understand story problems by revealing the task in stages and having learners adjust their predictions.

Contributor Notes

Lara Dick, lara.dick@bucknell.edu, is an assistant professor in the mathematics department at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, Pennsylvania. She is interested in the development of preservice and in-service teachers' specialized content knowledge.

Tracy Foote White, tswhite@ncsu.edu, is a research assistant in mathematics education at North Carolina State University at Raleigh. She is interested in the equitable use of discourse for teaching and learning mathematics.

Aaron Trocki, atrocki@elon.edu, instructs mathematics at Elon University in Elon, North Carolina. He is interested in the role of discourse to promote conceptual understanding in mathematics.

Paola Sztajn, psztajn@ncsu.edu, is the department head of teacher education and learning sciences as well as a professor of mathematics education at North Carolina State University in Raleigh. Her research focuses on elementary school teachers' mathematics professional development.

Daniel Heck, dheck@horizon-research.com, is a senior researcher and partner at Horizon Research in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. His research focuses on teacher learning in professional development.

Kate Herrema, kherrema@wcpss.net, is a fifth-grade teacher at Farmington Woods Elementary School in Cary, North Carolina. She is interested in helping all students make connections in mathematics.

(Corresponding author is Dick lara.dick@bucknell.edu)(Corresponding author is White tswhite@ncsu.edu)(Corresponding author is Trocki atrocki@elon.edu)(Corresponding author is Sztajn psztajn@ncsu.edu)(Corresponding author is Heck dheck@horizon-research.com)(Corresponding author is Herrema kherrema@wcpss.net)
Teaching Children Mathematics

Metrics

All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 7 7 0
Full Text Views 7 7 0
PDF Downloads 9 9 0
EPUB Downloads 0 0 0