The String Task Not Just for High School

Engage your students in functional thinking—an important precursor to algebra—with this classroom activity.

Contributor Notes

Isil Isler, isler@wisc.edu, is a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. She is interested in early algebra, reasoning, and proof in the elementary and middle grades.

Tim Marum, tmarum23@gmail.com, is a graduate student at the University of Massachusetts–Dartmouth, working toward a Ph.D. in mathematics education. He is currently a math educator at Portsmouth High School in Rhode Island.

Ana Stephens, acstephens@wisc.edu, is an associate researcher at the Wisconsin Center for Education Research at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. She is interested in the development of students' and teachers' algebraic reasoning.

Maria Blanton, maria_blanton@terc.edu, is a senior scientist at TERC in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Her interests are in the development of children's algebraic thinking and in understanding its impact on their success in the formal study of algebra.

Eric Knuth, knuth@education.wisc.edu, is a mathematics education professor at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. His work focuses on the development of students' mathematical reasoning.

Angela Murphy Gardiner, angela_gardiner@terc.edu, is a senior research associate at TERC in Cambridge, Massachusetts. A former elementary school educator, she brings her classroom experience and knowledge to her research projects, where she enjoys working with students as they explore early algebra.

(Corresponding author is Isler isler@wisc.edu)(Corresponding author is Marum tmarum23@gmail.com)(Corresponding author is Stephens acstephens@wisc.edu)(Corresponding author is Blanton maria_blanton@terc.edu)(Corresponding author is Knuth knuth@education.wisc.edu)(Corresponding author is Gardiner angela_gardiner@terc.edu)
Teaching Children Mathematics

Metrics

All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 1 1 0
Full Text Views 1 1 0
PDF Downloads 1 1 0
EPUB Downloads 0 0 0