Seven educators collaborate to develop a shared language that describes a mathematics pedagogy used to guide wholeclass discussions.

Contributor Notes

Daniel Bochicchio, dbochicchio@eosmith.org, teaches mathematics at E. O. Smith High School in Storrs, Connecticut. He is interested in enhancing whole-class discussion and enjoys giving professional development workshops.

Shelbi Cole, shelbi.cole@uconn.edu, a graduate student and research assistant at the University of Connecticut, is interested in the implementation of mathematics units based on gifted and talented curriculum models.

Deborah Ostien, dostien@willingtonct.org, teaches at Hall Memorial School in Willington, Connecticut. She is interested in whole-class discussions in the mathematics classroom and using them to assist preservice teachers, first-year teachers, and classroom interns to move the discussion forward.

Vanessa Rodriguez, vrodteach@sbcglobal.net, who teaches mathematics at Bulkeley High School in Hartford, Connecticut, is interested in increasing student achievement by personalizing mathematics and empowering students to experience satisfaction from learning.

Megan Staples, megan.staples@uconn.edu, an assistant professor of mathematics education at the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut, is interested in how mathematics teachers organize student discourse and how students learn through collaborative interactions.

Patricia Susla, psusla@woodstockacademy.org, who is the chair of the mathematics department at Woodstock Academy in Woodstock, Connecticut, is interested in mathematical classroom discourse and the development of algebraic reasoning.

Mary Truxaw, mary.truxaw@uconn.edu, is an assistant professor of mathematics education at the Neag School of Education at the University of Connecticut. She is interested in uncovering connections between mathematical discourse and mathematical meaning making.

(Corresponding author is Bochicchio dbochicchio@eosmith.org)
(Corresponding author is Cole shelbi.cole@uconn.edu)
(Corresponding author is Ostien dostien@willingtonct.org)
(Corresponding author is Rodriguez vrodteach@sbcglobal.net)
(Corresponding author is Staples megan.staples@uconn.edu)
(Corresponding author is Susla psusla@woodstockacademy.org)
(Corresponding author is Truxaw mary.truxaw@uconn.edu)
The Mathematics Teacher
All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 76 40 4
Full Text Views 28 6 1
PDF Downloads 16 10 1
EPUB Downloads 0 0 0