Toward a Framework for Research Linking Equitable Teaching With the Standards for Mathematical Practice

The Common Core State Standards for Mathematics (CCSSM) do not make any promises about the teaching practices that should be used to support students' enactment of the standards. Thus, equity gets framed as achievable through making the standards a goal for all students. We know from research on past reform efforts that standards without explicit (or companion) teaching practices, and teaching practices without explicit attention to equity, will inevitably result in the failure of the standards to achieve goals for students. This commentary provides a framework for future research that hypothesizes research-based equitable mathematics teaching practices in support of the CCSSM's Standards for Mathematical Practice, connecting research, policy, and practice in order to realize the equity potential of the CCSSM.

Contributor Notes

Tonya Bartell, Department of Teacher Education, Michigan State University, 620 Farm Lane, East Lansing, MI 48824; tbartell@msu.edu

Anita Wager, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 225 N. Mills Street, Madison, WI 53706; awager@wisc.edu

Ann Edwards, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, 51 Vista Lane, Stanford, CA 94305; edwards@carnegiefoundation.org

Dan Battey, Graduate School of Education, Rutgers University, 10 Seminary Place, 229C, New Brunswick, NJ 08901; dan.battey@gse.rutgers.edu

Mary Foote, Queens College, Powdermaker Hall, Room 054W, Queens, NY 11367; Mary.Foote@qc.cuny.edu

Joi Spencer, Department of Learning and Teaching, University of San Diego, 5998 Alcala Park, Mother Rosalie Hill Hall, San Diego, CA 92108; joi.spencer@sandiego.edu

(Corresponding author is Bartell tbartell@msu.edu)(Corresponding author is Wager awager@wisc.edu)(Corresponding author is Edwards edwards@carnegiefoundation.org)(Corresponding author is Battey dan.battey@gse.rutgers.edu)(Corresponding author is Foote Mary.Foote@qc.cuny.edu)(Corresponding author is Spencer joi.spencer@sandiego.edu)
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education

Metrics

All Time Past Year Past 30 Days
Abstract Views 29 29 15
Full Text Views 21 21 3
PDF Downloads 60 60 7
EPUB Downloads 0 0 0